About Us

Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Limited was formed in 1990 by the 7 Tribal Councils of Manitoba. Currently, we are focused on opportunities related to First Nations health, specifically by building and investing in the Spirit Group of Companies (see below) and partnering with organizations such as Express Scripts Canada.

With a commitment to better fulfill our original vision “to contribute to the self-sufficiency and prosperity of First Nations and future generations” we have gone through significant organizational changes. Our new leadership team – Heather Berthelette (CEO) and Jeff Butler (CFO) along with our new Board of Directors – Lead by Chief Dennis Meeches – is committed to rebuilding a new business model, an Indigenous model that focuses on community health and wellness, and economic success that benefits our communities. We have learned from our past and the yardstick by which we now measure success is: what we are doing for the communities with the communities.

Most of our current investments fall under the Spirit Group of Companies and are concentrated on First Nations health. They include:

Spirit Pharmaceuticals
The Spirit Meter
SpritRx Solutions

Click here to view the TCIG 2020 ANNUAL REPORT

Heather Berthelette

Heather has been with Tribal Councils Investment Group for over 5 years. She is currently the Chief Executive Officer, a position she has held since 2015. Heather attended the Asper School of Business and has an extensive background in operations and finance. Her expertise also extends to strategic planning, audits and budgeting, and overseeing inventory control and purchasing. Heather’s background was invaluable during the re-structuring of TCIG.

As well, her personal passion and connection to her Metis roots fuels her purpose and desire to be part of an investment strategy that is centred around community.

Jeff Butler, CFO

Jeff joined Tribal Councils Investment Group in January of 2018. He is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years experience in finance and systems. Jeff spent 16 years in public practice with two large international accounting firms, and has many years experience in senior management roles in industry and consulting. He attended the University of Manitoba where he received a Bachelor of Commerce with Honours degree, Accounting.

Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Ltd.

Board of Directors:

Chief Dennis Meeches (President) – Represents DOTC

Chief Larry Barker (Vice-President) – Represents SERDC

Chief Norman Bone (Secretary/Treasurer) – Represents WRTC

Chief Elwood Zastre – Represents SCTC

Chief Doreen Spence – Represents KTC

Jonathan Flett – (interim) Represents ILTC

Karl Zadnik – (interim) Represents IRTC

Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council  (DOTC)

Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council (DOTC)

Birdtail Sioux First Nation
Dakota Tipi First Nation
Long Plain First Nation
Roseau River Anishnabe First Nation
Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation
Swan Lake First Nation

Interlake Reserves Tribal Council (IRTC)

Interlake Reserves Tribal Council (IRTC)

Dauphin River First Nation
Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation
Lake Manitoba First Nation
Little Saskatchewan First Nation
Peguis First Nation
Pinaymootang First Nation

Island Lake Tribal Council (ILTC)

Island Lake Tribal Council (ILTC)

St.Theresa Point First Nation
Wasagamack First Nation
Red Sucker Lake First Nation
Garden Hill First Nation

Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC)

Keewatin Tribal Council (KTC)

Tataskweyak Cree Nation
Barren Lands First Nation
Bunibonibee Cree Nation
Fox Lake Cree Nation
God’s Lake First Nation
Manto Sipi Cree Nation
Northlands Dene First Nation
Sayisi Dene First Nation
Shamattawa First Nation
War Lake First Nation
York Factory First Nation

Southeast Resource Development Council (SERDC)

Southeast Resource Development Council (SERDC)

Berens River First Nation
Black River First Nation
Bloodvein First Nation
Brokenhead First Nation
Hollow Water First Nation
Little Grand Rapids First Nation
Pauingassi First Nation
Poplar River First Nation

Swampy Cree Tribal Council (SCTC)

Swampy Cree Tribal Council (SCTC)

Chemawawin Cree Nation
Mosakahiken Cree Nation
Mathias Colomb Cree Nation
Misipawastik Cree Nation
Opaskwayak Cree Nation
Sapotaweyak Cree Nation
Wuskwi Sipihk First Nation

West Region Tribal Council (WRTC)

West Region Tribal Council (WRTC)

Ochi-Chak-Ko-Sipi First Nation
Gambler First Nation
Rolling River First Nation
Skownan First Nation
Keeseekoowenin First Nation
Pine Creek First Nation
Ebb and Flow First Nation
Tootinaowaziibeeng Treaty Reserve